In order to provide you with services and offers tailored to your interests, Barnes
uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site , you accept their use. Read more

Life in the Les Cordeliers district

Vivre quartier Les Cordeliers

It doesn't get much more central than this, ideally located between Place des Terreaux and Place Bellecour, between the Saône and Rhône rivers. The very heart of the Presquîle! The district owes its name to the Couvent des Cordeliers which was the name given to members of a religious order who wore a rope or 'cord' around their robes. A historic locality with its elegant monuments, and today a lively neighborhood popular for its numerous shops, particularly those on rue de la République, a must-visit when youre on the Presquîle. Pedestrian precincts, small terraces, department stores, typical Lyon restaurantsIt's all here! A distillation of life.

BARNES Lyon gives you the guided tour of this district, and all the other districts of Lyon.


Les Cordeliers: history of the district

After the Revolution of 1789, the convent became the property of the State and destroyed. Only the church, placed under the aegis of Saint-Bonaventure, was saved and had its current facade added in the 19th century. In the Middle Ages, the inhabitants were essentially concentrated around the Saint-Nizier church and in the alleys that crisscross the Les Cordeliers district from East to West, particularly rues Tupin, Ferrandière, Thomassin, etc.

During the Second Empire, reflecting the colossal works undertaken by Baron Haussmann in Paris, it was decided to construct proper streets in the center of Lyon, including rue de la République, completed in 1862.

Along with the redevelopment of the Grolée district, in Place des Cordeliers a vast covered market was built, which was later converted into a permanent market hall. Lyon already had its temple to good food! A metal pavilion designed by the architect Tony Desjardins, was inaugurated in 1859. It was destroyed in 1970 by order of Mayor Pradel when the Halles (markets) were relocated to the new Part-Dieu district. The Les Cordeliers car park thus replaced this beautiful 19th century structure, and the Grand Bazar building opposite followed suit, destroyed to give way to a smoked glass building which now houses the Monoprix store and which contrasts audaciously with the facade of the Saint-Bonaventure Church located just behind.

But rest assured, there are still traces of the rich past of this district of Lyon. Classed as a historic monument in 1994, the Palais du Commerce, home to the

Chamber of Commerce and Industry, has retained all its 19th century splendor. Built between 1854 and 1860 by Lyon-born architect René Dardel (1796-1871) in the Second Empire style, the building and its famous Salle de la Corbeille central hall, the jewel of Lyon's architectural landscape, was inaugurated on August 25, 1860 by Napoléon III.

Alongside Place des Cordeliers, a bas-relief sculpture represents an allegory of the Rhône and the Saône, a man for the Rhône on the upper half and a woman for the Saône on the lower half.


Life in Les Cordeliers: a lively and vibrant quarter

Emblematic venues

In addition to its architecture, the Les Cordeliers district is appreciated for its vibrant ambiance. It is home to many of the city's emblematic venues, including the Grand Café des Négociants, the Institution, the Cintra and the Comptoir de la Bourse where the people of Lyon are accustomed to meet for business meetings, lunch or a last drink! Discerning palates will be delighted to discover the tempting window displays of the Bonnard delicatessen, renowned for its hot sausages, and those of Merveilleux de Fred just a few yards away, not forgetting the chocolates from Voisin and La Maison Pralus.

The Quai Saint-Antoine market is open mornings from Tuesday to Sunday and carries all the local produce.

New names

In Place des Cordeliers, the Monoprix store is spread over 3 floors and is very popular at all hours of the day, in particular after work, when late shoppers crowd in to search for last minute provisions! Young and lively, the Les Cordeliers district is at the heart of the shopping area and its rue Grolée. For a long time an abandoned street, it has regained its spirit with the arrival of some of the leading retail names such as Uniqlo or Hard Rock Café and in particular home furnishings: La Redoute Intérieurs, Søstrene Grene, Hema, etc.

Going out for dinner or a drink

The second arrondissement also abounds with restaurants, in particular on rue Mercière, rue du Palais Grillet and Place de la Bourse. Whether youre out for dinner or a drink, there is an abundance of choice, with the added convenience of being able to walk home! Looking for an evening out? The Théâtre des Célestins, the Opera or the Comédie Odéon are just a stone’s throw away.


Schooling & Transportation in the Les Cordeliers district

Kindergartens, elementary, middle and high schools are easily accessible.

Public schools

Lamartine Kindergarten and Elementary school

Ampère Middle & High school

Private schools

Saint-Nizier-Aux Lazaristes School

Chevreul Middle School

Saint-Marc High School

Public transport

The Les Cordeliers district has a metro line that provides access to the whole of Lyon in record time:

Metro A: Perrache / Vaulx-en-Velin

Metro C: Cuire / Hôtel de Ville

Discover all the districts of the Presqu'île:

Average Prices

Sale

Appartment

€/m25,000.00

House

NC
Rent

Appartment

NC

House

NC

Accommodations *

RESIDENTIAL DISTRIBUTION
Icon logement - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
1,643.00

principal

Icon logement secondaire - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
74.00

secondary
(and casual housing)

Icon logement vacant - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
137.00

Vacants

Icon logement maison - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
15.00

houses

Icon logement appartement - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
1,822.00

Appartements

Numbers of rooms
Main residence
Surfaces
Construct year
before 1919
1204
1919 to 1945
152
1946 to 1970
80
1971 to 1990
151
1991 to 2010
13
2006 to 2010
21
After 2011
0

POPULATION *

Age distribution
TOTAL : 2823
226
0-14 years
1130
15-29 years
572
30-44 years
367
45-59 years
333
60-75 years
195
75 years and +
DISTRIBUTION OF MEN / WOMEN *
Icon homme - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
1,311.00

men

Icon femme - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
1,512.00

women

Marital status
Icon ring - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
680.00

married

Icon nonmarie - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
1,916.00

single person

Household
Children under 25

Employment and income *

Professionnal categories
0
Farmers
115
Artisans, shopkeepers and heads of a company
509
Executive and intellectuals
405
Intermediate professions
335
Employees
111
Workers
* Price/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Other data : INSEE 2013

Afin de vous proposer des services et offres adaptés à vos centres d'intérêts, Barnes utilise des cookies. En continuant de naviguer sur le site, vous déclarez accepter leur utilisation. En savoir plus

Vivre dans le quartier des Cordeliers

Vivre quartier Les Cordeliers

Voilà un quartier on ne peut plus central, idéalement situé entre la place des Terreaux et la Place Bellecour, entre Saône et Rhône. La presqu’île en plein cœur ! Le quartier doit son nom au couvent des Cordeliers qui désignait les religieux portant une corde autour de leurs tailles. Un lieu chargé d’histoire avec ses monuments élégants et aujourd’hui en effervescence, fréquenté pour ses nombreux commerces, notamment ceux de la rue de la République, un passage obligé pour toute traversée de la presqu’île. Rues piétonnes, petites terrasses, grands magasins, bouchons lyonnais … Tout est là ! Un concentré de vie.

Les Cordeliers : histoire du quartier

Après la Révolution de 1789, le couvent des Cordeliers est aliéné et détruit. Seule l'église, placée sous le vocable de Saint-Bonaventure est épargnée et se verra adjoindre l’actuelle façade au XIXe siècle. Au Moyen Âge, les habitants sont essentiellement concentrés autour de l'église Saint-Nizier et dans les ruelles qui traversent le quartier des Cordeliers d'est en ouest, notamment les rues Tupin, Ferrandière, Thomassin, etc.  

Au cours du second Empire, à l'instar des grands travaux entrepris par le baron Haussmann à Paris, on décide le percement de rues dans le centre de Lyon, dont la rue de la République achevée en 1862.

Conjointement au réaménagement du quartier Grolée, Place des Cordeliers, un vaste marché couvert est créé qui se transforme en halle permanente. Le temple de la bonne bouffe a déjà sa place à Lyon ! Un pavillon, œuvre métallique de  l’architecte Tony Desjardins est inauguré en 1859. Il sera détruit en 1970 sous l’ordre du maire Pradel à l'occasion du réaménagement des Halles dans le nouveau quartier de la Part-Dieu. Le parking des Cordeliers remplace ainsi ce bel ouvrage du XIXe, tandis que le bâtiment du Grand Bazar situé en face sera également détruit pour laisser place à un bâtiment en verre fumé qui abrite aujourd’hui l’enseigne Monoprix et qui contraste audacieusement avec la façade de l'Église Saint-Bonaventure située juste derrière.

Que l’on se rassure, subsiste encore quelques traces du riche passé de ce quartier lyonnais. Classé monument historique en 1994, le Palais du Commerce qui appartient à la Chambre de commerce et d’industrie a conservé toute sa splendeur XIXe. Construit de 1854 à 1860 par l'architecte lyonnais René Dardel (1796-1871) dans le style Second Empire, le bâtiment et sa fameuse salle de la Corbeille, joyau du patrimoine architectural lyonnais furent inaugurés le 25 août 1860 par Napoléon III.

Côté place des Cordeliers, une sculpture en bas-relief représente une allégorie du Rhône et de la Saône, homme pour le Rhône sur la partie supérieure et femme pour la Saône dans la partie inférieure.

Vivre aux Cordeliers : un quartier vivant et animé

Des adresses emblématiques

Outre son architecture, le quartier des Cordeliers est apprécié pour son animation et son dynamisme. Il compte bon nombre d’adresses emblématiques de la ville dont le Grand Café des Négociants, l’Institution, le Cintra, le Comptoir de la Bourse où les Lyonnais ont pour habitude de se retrouver pour un rendez-vous d’affaires, un déjeuner ou un dernier verre ! Les fins palais se réjouiront de découvrir les vitrines alléchantes de la charcuterie Bonnard, maison reconnue pour son fameux saucisson chaud mais aussi à quelques mètres plus loin celles des Merveilleux de Fred et sans oublier les chocolats Voisin et la Maison Pralus.

Le marché Quai Saint-Antoine est présent du mardi au dimanche le matin, vous y trouverez tous les produits locaux.

De nouvelles enseignes

Place des Cordeliers, le magasin Monoprix étendu sur 3 étages est très fréquenté à toute heure de la journée et surtout le soir lorsque les retardataires viennent en quête de quelques victuailles ! Jeune et animé, le quartier des Cordeliers est au cœur du centre commerçant et sa rue Grolée. Longtemps artère fantôme abandonnée, elle reprend des couleurs avec l’arrivée de grandes enseignes comme Uniqlo ou Hard Rock Café et notamment de décoration : La redoute Intérieurs, Søstrene Grene, Hema, etc.

Sortir manger ou boire un verre

Le second arrondissement fourmille également de restaurants notamment rue Mercière, rue du Palais Grillet et place de la Bourse. Pour sortir manger ou boire un verre, ici il n’y a que l’embarras du choix et avec le confort de rentrer à pied ! Envie de sortir ? Le Théâtre des Célestins, l’Opéra ou encore la Comédie Odéon ne sont qu’à quelques pas.

Scolarité & Transports dans le quartier des Cordeliers

Pour les enfants, crèches, écoles, collèges et lycées sont facilement accessibles.

Établissements publics

  • École maternelle et élémentaire Lamartine
  • Collège & lycée Ampère

Établissements privés 

  • École Saint-Nizier-Aux Lazaristes
  • Collège Chevreul
  • Lycée Saint-Marc

Transports

Le quartier des Cordeliers bénéficie du métro et vous permet d’accéder à tout Lyon en un temps-records :

  • Métro A : Perrache / Vaulx-en-Velin
  • Métro C : Cuire / Hôtel de Ville

Découvrez aussi tous les quartiers de la Presqu'île :

Prix Médian

Vente

Appartement

5 000 €/m2

Maison

NC
Location

Appartement

NC

Maison

NC

Logements *

Répartition des résidences
Icon logement - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
1 643

Principales

Icon logement secondaire - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
74

Secondaires
(et logements occasionnels)

Icon logement vacant - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
137

Vacants

Icon logement maison - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
15

Maisons

Icon logement appartement - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
1 822

Appartements

Nombres DE PIèCES
Résidences principales
Surfaces
Années de construction
Avant 1919
1204
1919 à 1945
152
1946 à 1970
80
1971 à 1990
151
1991 à 2010
13
2006 à 2010
21
Après 2011
0

Population *

Répartition par âge
TOTAL : 2823
226
0-14 ans
1130
15-29 ans
572
30-44 ans
367
45-59 ans
333
60-75 ans
195
75 ans et +
RéPARTITION HOMMES / FEMMES *
Icon homme - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
1 311

hommes

Icon femme - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
1 512

femmes

Statut des foyers
Icon ring - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
680

mariés

Icon nonmarie - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
1 916

Non mariés

COMPOSITION DES FAMILLES
Enfant de moins de 25 ans

Emploi et revenus *

Population catégorie socio-professionnelle
0
Agriculteurs, exploitants
115
Artisans, commerçants et chefs d'entreprise
509
Cadres et professions intellectuelles supérieures
405
Professions intermédiaires
335
Employés
111
Ouvriers
* Prix/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Autres données : INSEE 2013