In order to provide you with services and offers tailored to your interests, Barnes
uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site , you accept their use. Read more

Life in Les Brotteaux neighborhood

Life in Les Brotteaux neighborhood

Once called the Morand neighborhood, named for the architect and urban planner who designed it, Les Brotteaux was a river plain, with Art Déco architecture and some classy dining venues. Now, it’s a swanky Lyon neighborhood. BARNES Lyon introduces you to this neighborhood but also all the districts in Lyon.

History of Les Brotteaux: a former island?

It certainly was! Attesting to this is the word “Broteaux”, with only one “t” as it used to be spelled in the Middle Ages, which meant “small island sculpted by the Rhône during its floods”.

From the end of the 19th century, the left bank of the Rhône began to urbanize around the prefecture and the Brotteaux train station which came to symbolize the neighborhood. The station was built on the site of a fort known as Les Brotteaux, which was destroyed in 1859. The station itself was then relocated and rebuilt by the architects Rascol and d'Arbaud a little further back from the first station, making space for the Place Jules Ferry. The station was inaugurated in 1908 and was the first of Lyon’s train stations. Urban planning projects, including the construction of stunning bourgeois residential buildings, flourished around this majestic structure. Art Nouveau is evident on the facades of these buildings, in the decoration of the entrance doors and balconies, and within the buildings themselves whose stained-glass windows still attest to this rich legacy today. This architectural style is also found on the Place Jules Ferry and the Boulevard des Belges, one of the neighborhood’s main streets along with the Boulevard des Brotteaux. The Brasserie des Brotteaux, built in 1931, still retains its listed ornamental ceramic tiles today, a unique legacy of the Art Déco era. Also noteworthy is the historic facade of the Hotel Lugdunum which was built in 1924.

A make-over for Les Brotteaux station

Les Brotteaux station, which was abandoned when the Part-Dieu High-Speed Train Station opened in 1983, was renovated in 1988. Classed as a historical monument, the building is now home to the Aguttes Auction Rooms, offices and renowned venues such as the L’Est Brasserie by Paul Bocuse, Le Boudoir and F&K. This preserved historic environment has been well-developed in the last few years. The neighborhood has been transformed and is now brimming with popular venues and is the go-to area for Lyon’s residents for a night out.

Les Brotteaux: a lively Lyon neighborhood

Although the Cours Vitton is where shops and businesses are located, Place Jules Ferry and Les Brotteaux station area are an inviting location for a drink on the terrace before dinner or an evening of music. Its transformation and charm was closely linked to the construction in 2013 of underground parking and the renovation of Avenue du Général-Brosset into a fully pedestrianized 3.7-acre green area comprising some twenty small gardens with fountains. In just a few years, the highly residential Les Brotteaux area, has become a lively and attractive neighborhood to live in.

Located at the center of the ultra-chic 6th arrondissement, and close to the Parc de la Tête d’Or and the Part Dieu train station, it has no shortage of advantages to offer!

The Boulevard des Belges is a prestigious address filled with mansions and superb buildings some of which grant direct access to the Tête d’Or Park, a huge 260-acre green area at the heart of the city including a 45-acre lake). The park was created in 1856 by the brothers Denis and Eugène Buhler, Parisian architects and landscape artists. It owes its name to a legend according to which there was treasure buried somewhere in the park, the main part of which was a gold statue of the head of Christ. Whether it’s boating on the lake, a jog along the park’s alleyways, a visit to the rose garden, a picnic, a yoga class on the immense lawns, or exploring the botanical garden or zoo, residents come here to relax, recharge their batteries or work up a sweat!

The place to be for Lyon’s gourmet cuisine

Did we mention the reputation of the neighborhood’s chefs? Although fine dining venues have traditionally been located in the neighborhood (Le Splendid by Georges Blanc and the Brasserie l’Est by Paul Bocuse), it is now home to Lyon’s most highly-regarded chefs and has amassed quite a number of Michelin stars! Christophe Roure, twice awarded the Michelin star, left the Loire region to open Le Neuvième Art on rue Cuvier. New venues such as l’Inattendu or Lyonnais bouchon-style restaurants like the Café du Peintre offer culinary exploration, in addition to the highly renowned establishments Pierre Orsi and Gourmet de Sèze.

Schooling & Transportation in Les Brotteaux

Montaigne Public Elementary School

Saint-Joseph des Brotteaux Private Elementary School

Saint-Nom de Jésus Private Elementary School

Deborde Private Elementary, Middle and High Schools

Le Parc Public Middle School

La Trinité Private Middle School


Discover also all the neighborhoods of the sixth arrondissement of Lyon :

Average Prices

Sale

Appartment

€/m24,800.00

House

NC
Rent

Appartment

NC

House

NC

Accommodations *

RESIDENTIAL DISTRIBUTION
Icon logement - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
5,202.00

principal

Icon logement secondaire - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
241.00

secondary
(and casual housing)

Icon logement vacant - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
599.00

Vacants

Icon logement maison - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
22.00

houses

Icon logement appartement - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
5,977.00

Appartements

Numbers of rooms
Main residence
Surfaces
Construct year
before 1919
1195
1919 to 1945
905
1946 to 1970
938
1971 to 1990
423
1991 to 2010
222
2006 to 2010
13
After 2011
1

POPULATION *

Age distribution
TOTAL : 9415
1191
0-14 years
3048
15-29 years
2054
30-44 years
1461
45-59 years
953
60-75 years
708
75 years and +
DISTRIBUTION OF MEN / WOMEN *
Icon homme - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
4,400.00

men

Icon femme - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
5,014.00

women

Marital status
Icon ring - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
5,691.00

married

Icon nonmarie - BARNES Agency, luxury real estate in Lyon
2,532.00

single person

Household
Children under 25

Employment and income *

Professionnal categories
3
Farmers
265
Artisans, shopkeepers and heads of a company
2080
Executive and intellectuals
1377
Intermediate professions
1085
Employees
279
Workers
Medium household income
30,677.00

Average annual income per household

* Price/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Other data : INSEE 2013

Afin de vous proposer des services et offres adaptés à vos centres d'intérêts, Barnes utilise des cookies. En continuant de naviguer sur le site, vous déclarez accepter leur utilisation. En savoir plus

Vivre dans le quartier Brotteaux

Vivre dans le quartier des Brotteaux

Autrefois appelé quartier Morand, du nom de l’architecte et urbaniste à l’origine de son urbanisation, les Brotteaux étaient une plaine fluviale, riche d’une architecture Art Déco et de belles adresses gastronomiques. C’est aujourd’hui l’un des quartiers huppés de Lyon. BARNES Lyon vous fait découvrir en détail ce quartier mais aussi tous les quartiers de Lyon.

Histoire des Brotteaux : une ancienne île ?

Et oui ! En témoigne le  terme “Broteaux” avec un seul “t” comme on l’écrivait au Moyen-Âge, qui signifiait  “petite île sculptée par le Rhône lors de ses crues”.

Dès la fin du XIXe, la rive gauche du Rhône poursuit son urbanisation autour de la préfecture et de la gare des Brotteaux qui devient le symbole du quartier.  À l’emplacement de la gare s’élevait un fort dit des Brotteaux détruit en 1859. Il laissera place à la gare, elle–même déplacée et reconstruite par les architectes Rascol et d'Arbaud légèrement en retrait de la première afin de donner naissance à la place Jules Ferry. Elle est inaugurée en 1908 et fut la première gare de Lyon. Les projets d’aménagement, dont la construction de beaux immeubles bourgeois, se multiplient autour de ce bâtiment majestueux. L’Art Nouveau s’exprime sur les façades, dans la décoration des portes d’entrée, des balcons, et à l’intérieur des immeubles dans lesquels des vitraux témoignent encore aujourd’hui de ce riche passé. Une architecture que l’on retrouve sur la place Jules Ferry et sur le boulevard des Belges, l’une des artères principales du quartier avec le boulevard des Brotteaux. La Brasserie des Brotteaux créée en 1931 a conservé ainsi des  céramiques ornementales classées, un décor, témoin unique de l’art déco. On notera également la façade historique de l’ancien hôtel Lugdunum construit en 1924.

Le nouveau visage des Brotteaux

La Gare des Brotteaux, abandonnée  lors de l’ouverture de la gare TGV de la Part-Dieu en 1983 a bénéficié d’une réhabilitation en 1988. Classé monument historique, l’édifice abrite désormais la société de ventes aux enchères Aguttes, des bureaux et des établissements de renom dont la brasserie L’Est de Paul Bocuse ou encore le Boudoir et le F&K. L’environnement, préservé et historique, a su être mis en valeur au cours de ces dernières années. Ce quartier métamorphosé qui aujourd’hui regorge de bonnes adresses est devenu le lieu de sortie incontournable des lyonnais.

Les Brotteaux : un quartier animé de Lyon

Si le cours Vitton concentre les commerces, la place Jules Ferry et le secteur de la gare des Brotteaux invitent à prendre un verre en terrasse, s’attarder pour dîner ou prolonger la soirée dans une ambiance musicale. Une attractivité et une mutation fortement liées à la construction en 2013 du parking souterrain et à la réhabilitation de l'avenue du Général-Brosset en place végétalisée, espace totalement piéton de 15 000 m², composé d’une vingtaine de micro-jardins avec fontaine. Les Brotteaux, secteur très résidentiel, est devenu en quelques années un quartier à vivre, animé et attrayant.

Situé au cœur du chicissime 6ème arrondissement, à proximité du parc de la Tête d’or et de la Gare de la Part Dieu, il ne manque pas d’atouts !

Adresse prestigieuse, le boulevard des Belges recèle d’hôtels particuliers et de beaux immeubles avec pour certain un accès direct sur le Parc de la Tête d’Or, gigantesque poumon vert au cœur de la ville d'une superficie de 105 hectares (dont un lac de 17 hectares).  Le parc a été créé en 1856 par les frères Denis et Eugène Buhler, architectes paysagistes parisiens. Il doit son nom à la légende selon laquelle un trésor dont la pièce principale serait une tête de Christ en or massif serait enfoui quelque part dans le parc. Promenade en barque sur le lac, footing le long de ses allées, visite de sa roseraie, pique-nique ou cours de yoga sur ses immenses pelouses, découverte du jardin botanique ou du parc zoologique…, les citadins viennent ici se détendre, se ressourcer ou transpirer !

« The place to be » de la gastronomie lyonnaise

Les chefs se seraient-ils donné le mot ? Si de belles tables avaient investi historiquement le quartier (Le Splendid de Georges Blanc et la Brasserie l’Est de Paul Bocuse), il accueille aujourd’hui les grands chefs lyonnais et concentre une jolie pluie d’étoiles ! Christophe Roure, le chef doublement étoilé, a ainsi quitté la Loire pour ouvrir le Neuvième Art rue Cuvier. De nouvelles adresses comme l’Inattendu ou des bouchons à l’instar du Café du Peintre invitent à de belles découvertes culinaires, à moins que l’on ne préfère se fier aux maisons renommées comme Pierre Orsi ou le Gourmet de Sèze.

Scolarité & transports aux Brotteaux

École primaire publique Montaigne

École primaire privée Saint-Joseph des Brotteaux

École primaire privée Saint-Nom de Jésus

École primaire, collège et lycée privés Deborde

Lycée public du Parc

Lycée privé de la Trinité

Découvrez aussi tous les quartiers du 6e arrondissement de Lyon:

Prix Médian

Vente

Appartement

4 800 €/m2

Maison

NC
Location

Appartement

NC

Maison

NC

Logements *

Répartition des résidences
Icon logement - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
5 202

Principales

Icon logement secondaire - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
241

Secondaires
(et logements occasionnels)

Icon logement vacant - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
599

Vacants

Icon logement maison - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
22

Maisons

Icon logement appartement - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
5 977

Appartements

Nombres DE PIèCES
Résidences principales
Surfaces
Années de construction
Avant 1919
1195
1919 à 1945
905
1946 à 1970
938
1971 à 1990
423
1991 à 2010
222
2006 à 2010
13
Après 2011
1

Population *

Répartition par âge
TOTAL : 9415
1191
0-14 ans
3048
15-29 ans
2054
30-44 ans
1461
45-59 ans
953
60-75 ans
708
75 ans et +
RéPARTITION HOMMES / FEMMES *
Icon homme - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
4 400

hommes

Icon femme - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
5 014

femmes

Statut des foyers
Icon ring - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
5 691

mariés

Icon nonmarie - BARNES Lyon - Immobilier de luxe, appartements et maisons de prestige à Lyon
2 532

Non mariés

COMPOSITION DES FAMILLES
Enfant de moins de 25 ans

Emploi et revenus *

Population catégorie socio-professionnelle
3
Agriculteurs, exploitants
265
Artisans, commerçants et chefs d'entreprise
2080
Cadres et professions intellectuelles supérieures
1377
Professions intermédiaires
1085
Employés
279
Ouvriers
Revenus MéDIANs des ménages
30 677

revenu annuel moyen par ménage

* Prix/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Autres données : INSEE 2013