In order to provide you with services and offers tailored to your interests, Barnes
uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site , you accept their use. Read more

Life in the Célestins district

Vivre quartier Célestins Lyon

Imagine a square bordered with magnolias in bloom, the majestic facade of a 19th century theater, terraces and a riverside market... this breathtaking and idyllic setting can be found at the heart of downtown Lyon. Head to the Place des Célestins to discover a haven of peace in the middle of a bustling city. We are just a few yards from Place Bellecour and yet… Considered as one of the most desirable squares in Lyon, emblematic of the city's cultural life, the Place des Célestins is home to the Italian style theater representing 200 years of the history of the dramatic arts. BARNES Lyon gives you the guided tour of this district, and all the other districts of Lyon.  

History of the Célestins district of Lyon

The square owes its name to the hermits of the religious Order of the Célestins, which was based here from 1407 to 1778. The monastery stood for almost 400 years before giving way to the Théâtre des Variétés, opened on April 9, 1792 but destroyed by a fire in 1871. 6 years later, a new theater, the work of Gaspard André was inaugurated, but also succumbed to a fire! The reconstruction as per the original plans was once again entrusted to the architect, who designed the current building. Major renovation works were undertaken from 2002 to 2005. The theater, unique in France, has one of the most beautiful Italian-style halls and has retained all the majesty of its rich history and its original architecture: the main lobby, the atrium, the red and gold hall and the galleries. During its 200-year history, it has seen many famous artists take to its stage: Louis Jouvet, Sacha Guitry, Madeleine Renaud, Joséphine Baker, Maurice Chevalier and many more. Today, the Théâtre des Célestins is a renowned performing arts venue that reaffirms its commitment each season to reveal the vitality of the theater repertoire in all its forms (classical, contemporary, circus arts, concerts and musicals, etc.) to the general public.


Life in the Célestins district

Life in the district revolves around performance times, with patrons enjoying a meal at one of the square's restaurants, or a last drink on the terrace. The true dolce vita! In spring, Lyon dwellers come to admire the magnolias in bloom and take time to relax on a bench or the theater steps.

A certain lifestyle, extending along the quays of the Célestins where you can enjoy a pleasant stroll, grab a bite in its many restaurants, or shop at the market on the banks of the River Saône, while taking in the magnificent views of the Fourvière Basilica and the old town (Vieux Lyon). Traces of the old Célestins convent on some of the buildings on the left bank of the river, in particular between Rue André and Rue Amboise, are a reminder of the historic past of the district. 

For parking, there are several car parks close by, including the Célestins car park which many see as a work of art! Designed and built by the architects Michel Targe and Jean-Michel Wilmotte, as well as the artist Daniel Buren, it descends several levels deep, each served by a spiral ramp, in the center line of which there is a cylindrical space dotted with arched windows, giving it the simple and enigmatic appearance of the palatial facades of Venice. A huge, slanted and rotating mirror is placed at the heart of the cylindrical space. The overall appearance is that of a telescope. Daniel Buren's work, “Sens dessus dessous” (or “Upside down”), can be seen from the square though a periscope giving a kaleidoscopic view of the car park.

Finding an apartment in the Célestins area

Superb apartments with a view of Fourvière are highly prized in this area. The district is home to a number of exceptional bourgeois-style apartments with all the charm of yesteryear: beautiful original parquet floors, large marble fireplaces, moldings and high ceilings. For those interested in renovating, the large dimensions give you all the scope you need to build your ideal living space. Completely refurbished, you can enjoy stunning apartments with lavish, more contemporary renovations. 


What to do in the Célestins district?

Places to eat and drink

Various establishments are located on the Place des Célestins, as well as on the river bank with terraces and a number of snack bars overlooking the Saône. From trendy bars to convivial cafés, and from contemporary brasseries to typical Lyonnais restaurants (“bouchons”), the district has an abundance of places for foodies: Brasserie Chavant, Diplomatico, Pléthore et Balthazar, Café du Marché, and the Buvette du Pont Bonaparte, to name but a few. 

You can also enjoy a variety of performances at the Théâtre Comédie Odéon or the Théâtre des Célestins, or take in a film at the Pathé Bellecour and Pathé Cordeliers cinemas. 

Food market

Why not visit the famous food market on Quai Saint-Antoine, open every morning from Tuesday to Sunday. Located on the banks of the Saône, facing Vieux Lyon, it is one of the city's largest food markets with stalls run by small market gardeners and farmers. Here, you'll find fruit and vegetables, cheeses, meat, game, roasted chickens, cold meats, fish, bread, cakes, wine and flowers.

All aboard

From the Quai des Célestins, board the riverboat shuttle Le Vaporetto, which links between the historic heart of the city, classified as a Unesco World Heritage Site, and the resolutely modern, trendy district of the Confluence and its shops and leisure facilities, in under 30 minutes. The vaporetto runs continuously every day from 10am to 9.30pm., departing every hour from the Quai des Célestins, at the foot of the Pont Bonaparte bridge. Or go with the flow on the Croisière Lyon City boat, boarding at 2 Quai des Célestins for a river tour of Lyon!

Schooling

Public schools

  • École élémentaire Lamartine
  • Collège et Lycée Ampère
  • Lycée Juliette Récamier

Private schools

  • École maternelle et élémentaire Saint Nizier – Aux Lazaristes
  • École maternelle et élémentaire du Sacré Cœur Saint-Marc
  • Collège Chevreul
  • Collège et Lycée Saint-Marie
  • Lycée Lazaristes
  • Lycée Saint-Marc

Discover all the districts of the Presqu'île:

* Price/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Other data : INSEE 2013

Cookie Consent byPrivacyPolicies.com

Vivre dans le quartier des Célestins

Vivre quartier Célestins Lyon

Imaginez une place bordée de magnolias en fleurs, une majestueuse façade, celle d’un théâtre du XIXe, des terrasses et un marché au fil de l’eau … Ce cadre oh ! combien idyllique se trouve au cœur de Lyon. Rendez-vous place des Célestins pour découvrir un havre de paix au milieu d’axes animés. Nous ne sommes qu’à quelques mètres de la place Bellecour et pourtant … Considérée comme l’une des plus agréables places de Lyon, emblématique de la vie culturelle, la place des Célestins abrite le théâtre à l'italienne qui retrace 200 ans d'histoire d'art dramatique. BARNES Lyon vous fait découvrir en détail ce quartier mais aussi tous les quartiers de Lyon.  

Histoire du quartier des Célestins de Lyon

La place doit son nom aux religieux de l'Ordre des Célestins qui y étaient installés de 1407 à 1778. Le monastère subsista près de 400 ans avant de laisser place au théâtre des Variétés inauguré le 9 avril 1792 mais détruit par un incendie en 1871. 6 ans plus tard est inauguré un nouveau théâtre, œuvre de Gaspard André qui subit lui aussi l’assaut des flammes ! La reconstruction selon les premiers plans est de nouveau confiée à l’architecte qui signe le bâtiment actuel. Une rénovation majeure a été réalisée dans les années 2002 à 2005. Le théâtre, unique en France, possède l’une des plus belles salles à l’italienne et, riche de son histoire, a conservé toute la majesté de son architecture d’origine : le foyer du public, l’atrium, la salle rouge et or ainsi que les galeries. Il aura accueilli durant ses 200 ans d’histoire, des artistes de renom : Louis Jouvet, Sacha Guitry, Madeleine Renaud, Joséphine Baker, Maurice Chevalier et bien d’autres encore. Aujourd’hui, le Théâtre des Célestins est un haut lieu du spectacle vivant qui, chaque saison, affirme sa volonté de faire découvrir au plus grand nombre la vitalité du répertoire théâtral sous toutes ses formes (classique, contemporaine, arts du cirque, spectacle musical, etc.).

Vivre dans le quartier des Célestins

Le quartier vit ainsi au rythme des entrées et sorties de spectacle, à l’heure où l’on vient se poser dans l’un des restaurants de la place, sur la terrasse pour boire un dernier verre. Comme un air de dolce vita ! Au printemps, les lyonnais viennent admirer les magnolias en fleurs, prendre le temps de s’asseoir sur un banc ou les marches du théâtre. Une parenthèse.

Un certain art de vivre qui semble se prolonger sur les quais des Célestins où il fait bon se promener, se restaurer dans ses nombreux établissements et faire son marché en bord de Saône tout en profitant d’une magnifique vue sur la Basilique de Fourvière et le Vieux-Lyon. Certains bâtiments situés sur la rive gauche des quais notamment entre les rues André et Amboise, vestiges de l’ancien couvent des Célestins, rappellent le passé historique du quartier.

Pour le stationnement, plusieurs parkings sont à proximité dont le parking des Célestins que l’on visite comme une œuvre d’art ! Réalisé par les architectes Michel Targe et Jean-Michel Wilmotte ainsi que l’artiste Daniel Buren, il s’enfonce sur plusieurs niveaux, desservis par une rampe hélicoïdale dans l’axe de laquelle est réservé un espace cylindrique parsemé d’ouvertures cintrées, lui donnant l’aspect simple et énigmatique des façades palatiales vénitiennes. Un immense miroir incliné et en rotation est placé au cœur de l’espace cylindrique. Le dispositif fait penser à celui d’un télescope. L'oeuvre de Daniel Buren "Sens dessus dessous" peut être vue depuis la place par un périscope donnant une vision en kaléidoscope du parking.

Trouver un appartement aux Célestins

De beaux appartements bénéficiant de la vue sur Fourvière sont très prisés. Le quartier cache de nombreux appartements d’exception de style bourgeois avec tout le charme de l’ancien : de beaux parquets d’origine, de grandes cheminées en marbre, des moulures et une belle hauteur sous plafond. À rénover, ces surfaces vous donnent le champ des possibles pour construire votre lieu idéal. Entièrement refait, vous bénéficiez de magnifiques appartements aux rénovations soignées et plus contemporaines.

Que faire dans le quartier des Célestins ?

Bonnes adresses

De nombreux établissements se situent sur la place des Célestins et également sur le quai avec des terrasses et quelques buvettes qui surplombent la Saône. Du bar festif, au café convivial, de la brasserie contemporaine au bouchon lyonnais, le quartier regorge d’adresses pour les gourmands : Brasserie Chavant, Diplomatico, Pléthore et Balthazar, Café du Marché, Buvette du Pont Bonaparte, etc.

Vous pouvez aussi profitez de nombreux spectacles avec le Théâtre Comédie Odéon, ou le Théâtre des Célestins ou vous programmer une séance de cinéma avec le Cinéma Pathé Bellecour et Pathé Cordeliers.

Marché alimentaire

Profitez également du renommé marché alimentaire situé Quai Saint-Antoine tous les matins du mardi au dimanche. Situé sur les quais de Saône, face au Vieux lyon, c’est l’un des plus grand marché alimentaire de la ville avec ses étals de petits producteurs maraîchers et fermiers. On peut y trouver des fruits et légumes, fromages, viandes, volailles, poulets rôtis, charcuteries, poissons, pains, pâtisseries, vins et fleurs.

Embarquement immédiat

Du quai des Célestins, embarquez au bord de la navette fluviale Le Vaporetto qui offre en moins de 30 minutes une liaison originale entre le coeur historique de la ville, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, et le quartier résolument moderne et branché de la Confluence et son pôle de commerces et loisirs. Un vaporetto circule tous les jours de 10h à 21h30 sans interruption, avec un départ toutes les heures du Quai des Célestins, au pied du Pont Bonaparte. Et Croisière Lyon City boat embarquement au 2 quai des Célestins pour une visite de Lyon au fil de l’eau !

Scolarité aux Célestins

Les établissements publics

  • École élémentaire Lamartine
  • Collège et Lycée Ampère
  • Lycée Juliette Récamier

Les établissements privés

  • École maternelle et élémentaire Saint Nizier – Aux Lazaristes
  • École maternelle et élémentaire du Sacré Cœur Saint-Marc
  • Collège Chevreul
  • Collège et Lycée Saint-Marie
  • Lycée Lazaristes
  • Lycée Saint-Marc
* Prix/m2 : PERVAL 2017 - Autres données : INSEE 2013